top of page

My Story

About 4 years ago, I remember being in church one Sunday and Pastor Durso said you should be ready to share your story at any moment. I was so scared and dreaded ever being asked to share my story because I thought, “I don’t have an amazing story of being set free from an addiction or anything dramatic like that.” But that was a lie. I’m Puerto Rican, so being dramatic is in my blood. That’s a joke. I’m also an O’Neill and that funny gene runs wild sometimes. :-D

But, yes, it was a great big lie. There is nothing unamazing about the fact that Jesus gripped and pulled me back from the claws and chains leading me to death, a simmering unnoticeable death. And that He continuously intercedes to bring me to an unimaginably fulfilled life in Him, where I cannot begin to contemplate the immeasurable joys He has in store for me.

See, every choice I have made against the will of God has been a choice that lead my soul down towards the grave. That included choices like, “Lord, I will not share my gifts and who I am. They are not good enough. And if they are, I don’t want the responsibility. What great thing will they accomplish? It’s too much pressure and I want to run away and hide when I have too much on my plate. I can’t do it.” Does any of this sound familiar to you?

Please understand that me even writing this and being public is extremely foreign territory for me. I am very private, too private, but God has compelled me to share and I am no longer walking downward. I will do as He says. Here I am while the flesh is telling me who cares what you have to say and the enemy attempts to discourage me with lies, my spirit confirms with the Holy Spirit that I am to keep moving forward and I am recharged as I continue.

The truth is I do have an amazing story. And not just A story, but stories… And it’s not about me. Phew, does that put the pressure off of me. These stories are actually about who God is and how He has shown Himself amazing through my loneliness, broken heart, insecurities, fears, discouragements, rejection, disappointments, and all other arrows that the enemy and my flesh wage against me.

But who He is has lead me to rise up with faith and joy to put on this majestic robe made just for me. It represents His glory, His kingdom, Power, Authority, Grace, Comfort, Beauty, Peace, Love, and Joy. It means I’m equipped and have access to strengthen the muscles of my faith, wisdom, knowledge, discernment, understanding, patience, kindness, forgiveness, grace, love, and so much more. I can choose to dress myself in it every day and so can you. As a professed believer in Jesus Christ, your royal robe is by your side waiting for you to pick it up and wrap yourself in it and then walk in the graceful humility and confidence of the glorious child that you are. God’s love is overwhelming and that’s why He gives it to us and shows us small portions of it throughout the adventures of our lives. Yes, I will call them adventures, even the dark moments. Those were horrific adventures, but adventures nonetheless that actually are life’s pivotal places where God reveals to us His nature and where we get a glimpse of the gloriousness of our God.

I pray that together we will be able to move forward in the purpose God has for us. So, please pray for me as I will for you and let’s share, lift each other up and see what Love can do through us.

Oh and may I ask you to do something? At any moment of reading these excerpts, please pray. As God reveals Himself to you, pray. Stop and ask Him. Do not allow any moments to pass by without you answering when He calls and tugs on your heart. It’s time to rise up, imperfect, but perfectly wonderful as you are in Christ. Glorious and beautiful while wearing the scars that tell the story of who Jesus is! You are undefeated because through every mess up, every weakness and every battle you will face, it is yet another opportunity God will use to show you He’s the great “I am”, He’s got you and that you are chosen, beautiful, wanted, accepted, celebrated, forgiven, and loved. You are a victorious warrior, defender of the weak, and champion. So put on your robe and walk because you are amazing. Let your light shine as you learn along the way. Share what you’ve learned. That’s your story and no one can take it from you. Remember. Pray for God to recall to memory how He has shown Himself to you up until now. Get a journal, video, or blog about it. But definitely take note. You will rejoice! Such joy will be too much to bear and you will be humbled and find strength there that is uncircumstantial and catapults you to move ahead with graceful confidence, strength and love to glaze it all.

So, here we go…

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9

“ Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12

“From Christ the whole body is fitted and held together by every supporting ligament. And as each individual part does its work, the body grows and builds itself up in love.” Ephesians 4:16

bottom of page