top of page

#1 God is Healer


Marta Rolon
Me @ 2 years old

See that graceful and poised taina-looking woman there? That is my maternal great-grandmother, Tata. In the picture on the left, she was carrying my grandfather in her womb. The image on the right depicts a steadfast woman of character-wise, perseverant and rooted in her faith. She was a prayer warrior.

And that’s me at the bottom at age two. Countless times, Mom and I stayed over her house in Royal Town, Bayamon, PR, from when I was that old up until she could no longer live on her own. She lived a long life though and went to her real home with the Lord when she was in her late 90s about 15 years ago.

Mom told me that she loved children and children loved her and would call out to her in the streets as she walked home from church or from the store. That makes my heart smile because I too love children.

She gave her heart to the Lord through a street evangelist sharing the gift of salvation in Jesus Christ using one of those infamous megaphones. Yup, those annoying things. But it worked! That day the angels lit up Heaven with praises because she repented and became a child of the King.

I’m sure many people have their own personal celebratory accounts with “mi bisabuela” (my great-grandmother), but there are 7 things that I will always remember and which captures her legacy and character.

1. Los Grillos y Lagartijos (The Crickets and Lizards)

My brother, cousins, and I always wanted to get those pesky lizards out of Tata’s house, but she insisted we didn’t, telling us, “no los mata porque comen a los grillos” (“Don’t kill them because they eat the crickets.”). They also ate the roaches, mosquitos, and any other moving insects around. So, yes she was right to keep those quick, jumpy green suckers around, but I was afraid that one day they’d jump on me. Needless to say, I was not a fan of her sensible theory.

2. The Backyard

Us, kids loved the backyard...to run, play, catch those fidgety lil’ lizards as well as fetch Tata whatever herb or fruit she had been growing in her garden. Anything to play outside and run around.

3. Platanos Maduros (Sweet Fried Plantain)

Oh man, my favorite was her maduros. Her secret was to dip them in flour before frying them. I’m not sure what else she added but they were the best! She knew I loved them and would make them especially for me. I remember when I ate her maduros for the last time. It is a distinctive memory because I was told not to ask her to make them for me due to her failing sight. It was a very sad day for me; not only because I would no longer be granted this deliciousness, but because my Tata was now unable to show her love through her cooking.

4. The Rocking Chair

Tata’s home had such a peace about it. Truly a testament of her life lived by the Spirit. My favorite spot in Tata’s house was in her living room, sitting on her rocking chair. I would sway rhythmically back and forth as I contemplated the two bigger than life-size wooden pictures of her first great-grandchildren, hanging on the wall in front of me and attempting to understand what Mami and Tata were talking about in Spanish. After that, I’d just bask in the presence of the peace that surrounded me. I had dibs on that rocking chair, but looks like I’ll have to get my own in honor of... for my great-grandchildren.

5. Table Talks

Oddly enough, I recall, with detail and feeling, certain things that occurred when I was an infant. And I remember “talking” with Tata when I was an infant and toddler unable to form words. I would sit up on her kitchen table next to the window and hold a conversation with her in my gibberish language with lots of expression and hand gestures. Mom confirms this with specifics including Tata saying, “esta va ser predicadora” (“this one is going to be a preacher”) because of how expressively I communicated. It’s interesting because I’m still dramatically expressive when I get excited. Lord, help me.

6. Praying

I witnessed mi bisabuela praying on her knees early in the morning daily by her bed. I saw it and could slightly hear it. Even when she was quite up there in years, she held on in the same way to receive her Life-giving Water every morning as well as assure that the generations to come would receive blessings from the Lord and be kept and guarded for the day of salvation. Her faithfulness, praises, and prayers were not in vain and are a bountiful storehouse for her lineage still.

7. Healing Power of God

I must have been about 3 or 4 years old on this morning while spending the weekend with Mom at Tata’s house. We were supposed to be getting ready to go to church, but instead I was still in bed, wearing my pajamas and running a high fever that had me laid out, feeling weak, and barely able to move. Tata saw how sick I was and Mom confirmed I was running a fever after taking my temperature. Tata said, “vamos para iglesia” (we’re going to church). She left the room and returned with oil. She put some oil on her finger and onto my head and body and began to pray. At that time I didn’t know much of Spanish, so my human ears and knowledge couldn’t comprehend, but my spirit knew something was happening and I received healing.

My fever left.

God healed me!

Just like that! I felt better.

Within minutes, I went from being severely weak, feverish, and saddened by my inability to move to happily bouncing off of the bed to get ready to go to church.

God is healer!

Praise His name!

He did it for me back then and He will do it for you.

He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

Praise His holy name!

In the name of Jesus every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

Believe

It is not by might nor by power but by my Spirit, says the Lord.

Pray

Jesus tells us that if any of you should be sick, that you should go to the elders of the church for them to lay hands on you to be healed.

I had an elder amongst me at that time, but God has made a way for you.

Walk in it!

Obey

Why don’t we believe and obey when God tells us to do something? He gave us the answer.

Persevere

We must pick up our mat and walk, at all times.

This is not just for physical healing; although, yes this was how God showed me who He was through the natural. But God wants us healed in every way…Physically, Emotionally, and Spiritually!

Let Him.

You desperately need help?

You want a better life?

Then, you need to embrace the change…

with hope and joy as you trust in God.

Are you suffocating by the insanity of YOUR own circle of same choices and way of living?

Then, STOP!

Break through that deathly whirlpool.

Stop holding out the S. O. S. flag and start living it out!

You have been flailing that SOS cloth for others to help when you have the answer in your very hands.

The breakthrough begins with you.

S-Surrender

O-Obey

S-Seek

I look forward to sharing more on this in a future post.

For now, let’s pray.

Father God, help my brothers and sisters-in-Christ to begin to break strongholds by first surrendering to you and your will. Help them to come to you daily and ask for your will and not their will to be done. Bring healing to every part of their lives. That your healing oil may permeate every part that is broken and cries out to you. That they may understand and know that you are strong when they are weak. May your Holy Spirit lead them and prepare the way before them. Show them your goodness, healing power, and unfailing love as they walk with you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

“Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord.” James 5:14

"Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me;

yet not my will, but yours be done."

Luke 22:42

“...Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,

says the LORD Almighty.”

Zechariah 4:6

“Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble,

and he saved them from their distress.

He sent out his word and healed them;

he rescued them from the grave.

Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love

and his wonderful deeds for mankind.”

Psalm 107:19-21

“My son, pay attention to what I say;

turn your ear to my words.

Do not let them out of your sight,

keep them within your heart;

for they are life to those who find them

and health to one’s whole body.”

Proverbs 4:20-22

 

bottom of page